This is the "Home" page of the "D.Min. Project Papers" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

D.Min. Project Papers  

Information on accessing project papers from the Wesley Doctor of Ministry (D.Min.) program.
Last Updated: Nov 19, 2014 URL: http://wesleyseminary.libguides.com/dmin Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

HOW TO SEARCH FOR PROJECT PAPERS

The best source is the Library's online public access catalog. The catalog record for each item will indicate if the item is archive-only, if it circulates, or if is available electronically. If it is available electronically, the catalog record will link to the Theological Research Exchange Network (TREN) database.

Use the catalogue's Basic Search and enter the author's name and/or a few key words from the paper's title in the search box. You can also browse project papers by using the keyword d.min. in the search box. (You can add other key words to narrow your search.)

Sample searches:

  1. Browse all WTS D.Min. project papers.
  2. Search for D.Min. project papers that discuss John Wesley. Keywords: d.min. wesley.
  3. Search for all D.Min project papers that discuss urban ministry. Keywords: d.min. urban.
  4. Search for Terri Lynn Simpson's D.Min. project paper, Writing from the heart: exploring prayer, poetry, psalms and the practice of Lectio Divina. Keywords: terri simpson prayer.

You can also search for WTS project papers as well as papers from other institutions through ATLA's Research in Ministry (RIM) database or through the Theological Research Exchange Network (TREN). Visit our Electronic Resources: Databases page for more information.

 

Locating/Retrieving Project Papers

Depending upon the year the Project Paper was produced it might be available in paper or digital format. 

Paper copies will be in the Archive (in-Library access only) and possibly the Circulating collection. (Circulating copies can be borrowed.)

Digital copies are available for download via the TREN database.

Year Archive Circulating Download

1970 - 1980 X

1981 - 2010 X X

2011 - 2012 X X X

2013 - X

 

DIGITAL COPIES FOR DOWNLOAD (2011 - current)

In 2011, the Library begin systematically scanning new project papers and providing electronic access to them through the Theological Research Exchange Network (TREN). These items are catalogued in the Library's online public access catalogue, which provides a link (marked ELECTRONIC DOCUMENT) to the TREN database.

New project papers from the current year might be available electronically before they are fully catalogued. If you believe a new project paper is available, you can search TREN. Under "Search for Theses/Dissertations," select the School dropdown for Wesley Theological Seminary. You can further narrow your search by year, author, etc.

The Library cannot circulate digital copies hosted on TREN via Interlibrary Loan (ILL). Libraries and other institutions which need access to an item available through TREN can either subscribe to TREN or pay a per-item fee. Please contact TREN for more information.

OFF-CAMPUS ACCESS

Off-campus access to TREN requires either a subscription to the database or a per-item access fee.  You can view the project paper's preliminary pages, abstract, and bibliography as part of a free preview. If you are an off-campus Wesley student and you need digital access to one of our project papers, do not pay the access fee. Send a request to the library (library@wesleyseminary.edu) indicating the specific item you need to access. (Include title, author, and year.)

REMEMBER: DO NOT PAY FOR TREN PAPERS. THEY ARE AVAILABLE THROUGH THE LIBRARY SUBSCRIPTION.

 

CIRCULATING COPIES (1980 - 2012)

Copies of project papers from 1980 onward are bound and held in the circulating collection. (They are currently located on the second floor of the Library.)

Circulating items can be borrowed by Library patrons, and can be requested by other institutions through Interlibrary Loan.

 

ARCHIVE COPIES (1970 - 2012)

Every project paper through 2012 is bound and stored at the Library for archival purposes. These copies are indicated in the Library catalog as STORAGE (Does Not Circulate). Please request the copy at the Circulation & Information Services Desk.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip