This is the "HOME" page of the "Journals" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Journals  

Information about print and e-journals available through the Library.
Last Updated: Mar 10, 2017 URL: http://wesleyseminary.libguides.com/journals Print Guide RSS Updates
HOME Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Journals A-Z

Visit our comprehensive listing of journal titles, which includes multiple access points (including databases and publishers' websites) as available:

View JOURNALS A-Z


Between journal and database subscriptions, the Wesley community has access to hundreds of journals in a variety of disciplines. Some of these are available only in print, some only as e-journals, and some are both print and electronic. If you are looking for access to a journal which is not on this list, please contact the Library.

 

How do I Access an Online Journal?

If you go directly to a journal's webpage through its URL (or by searching Google or other search engines), you will not have access to subscribed contents. To view online content of journals which the Library subscribes to (either through database or direct subscription), please:

  1. Select the View Journals A-Z link above. If you are off-campus, you will have to use your MyWesley log-in credentials.
  2. Start to type a journal or periodical name. Matching titles will appear.
  3. Select the appropriate title.
  4. On the result page, you''ll see the periodical title and other information.
  5. Click the Full-Text Access link 
  6. You will be provided with a number of options, including a) database name (e.g., ATLASerials); b) publisher name (e.g., Cambridge Journals Online); c)  "Find Print Copy in Library."
  7. Choosing database or publisher link will get you to the online contents of the journal, either through the database or directly from the journal's website. (If you only see "Find Print Copy," then it is not available electronically.)
 

Off-Campus Access

If you are off campus, you will be asked to log in using your remote access username and password. Your username is the first part of your authorized Wesley email address (before the @) and the password is your Wesley email password.

 

What are Open Access (OA) Journals?

Some journals available through the library are marked "Open Access Journals."

Open Access journals are an important emerging development in scholarly publishing in multiple fields, including religion and theology. These e-journals are freely available, without subscription, in an attempt to take journal publishing away from profit-driven publishers and move it back into the hands of scholars and researchers. A few important points to consider:

  • open access publishing is not a vanity press: the open access movement stresses editorial quality and peer review.
  • many open access theology journals are indexed in the ATLA Religion database.
  • many of these journals are sponsored or hosted by universities or seminaries.

If you want to learn more about the open access initiative, visit the Budapest Open Access Initiative.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip