Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Frequently Asked Questions

Frequently Asked Questions

Organized by category, this list contains questions library users frequently ask about the library's services and operations. Questions will continue to be added along with their answers to meet the information needs of our library users.

Library COVID Protocols

Do I have to provide proof of vaccination before entering the library?
The Wesley Theological Seminary requires vaccination for all faculty, students, staff, and visitors. See the seminary's Safe Return to Campus policy for detailed information.
 

Do I have to wear a mask in the library?
Yes. Currently, masks must be worn in indoor public spaces on the campus including the library.

Will there be social distancing in the library?
Yes. Seating in the library will be limited to observe social distancing.

Are there time limits for how long I can be in the library?
While the library will not have time limits for library users, there is a limit to the number of people who will be able to be in the library per floor.

Will I be able to eat in the library lounge during my visit?
No. Although the lounge will be opened during the Spring 2022 semester, food consumption will not be permitted at this time. Food is not allowed in other parts of the library.

Search Tools/Online Resources

What is the Wesley Discovery Service (WDS)?
WDS is an integrated search tool that allows you to explore and find the contents of the library collection and online resources simultaneously.

What is the library online catalog?
The online catalog is a search tool that allows you to discover the physical items only within the library collection such as books, media, and journals.

Do I need a username and password to access the online catalog?
No. The online catalog is available for anyone to use. To access the online catalog from the library website, go to resources in the menu and select Search Catalog.

Who is eligible to use the library’s online resources off campus?
Only individuals with an active My Wesley account have off campus access to the library’s online resources.

How do I access databases, eBooks, and other online resources from off campus?
Use your My Wesley username and password. For further instructions, see Off Campus Access.

How do I find and access eBooks?
You can access some eBooks using the online catalog or WDS. You can also use individual eBook databases listed in the eBooks section on the library's Online Resources Guide.

Are there system requirements for accessing the library's online resources?
Yes. To use the online resources, particularly WDS and eBooks, you should observe the following to meet the recommended minimum system requirements:

  1. Have the “latest version” of the following browsers: Firefox, Safari, Google Chrome, Microsoft Edge
  2. Avoid Internet explorer version 11; it  is not recommended for a number of reasons.
  3. Enable cookies from third parties or allow cookies from EBSCO.
  4. Avoid using the privacy mode (e.g. incognito mode) in the browsers.

If you need help with your browser, you can find information at: 

  1. Internet Explorer: https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/internet-explorer.aspx
  2. Firefox: http://www.mozilla.com/firefox/
  3. Safari: http://www.apple.com/safari/download/
  4. Google Chrome: https://www.google.com/intl/en/chrome/browser/

Research

Where do I find resources for biblical interpretation?
The Biblical Interpretation Resource Guide introduces print and online resources for biblical interpretation, study, and research.

How do I find print and electronic journals in the library?
The Journals Guide provides information about print and electronic journals accessible through the library.

Can I access commentaries, topical dictionaries, and encyclopedias online?
Yes. The library subscribes to a number of electronic reference resources. These resources are grouped by category on the Online Resources Guide.

How can I find out if my professor has assigned readings on reserve in the library?
Use the Course Reserve to find assigned texts placed on reserve in the library.

How do I properly cite sources and avoid plagiarism?
The Academic Honesty and Integrity Guide offers guidance on understanding plagiarism and proper citation.

What is Copyright and Fair Use?
See the Copyright and Fair Use Guide.

How do I get research assistance?
Librarians are available to consult with you by email, phone, or Zoom appointments. Send email about your research needs to library@wesleyseminary.edu.

Is there writing assistance available?
Yes. The Writing Center at Wesley offers support to students enrolled in the Master’s programs.

Doctor Ministry Project Papers

How do I find previous D.Min. project papers?
The online catalog is the easiest tool to use for finding D.Min. project papers. See Finding Previous Papers for search guidance.

How do I format my D.Min. project paper and submit it to the library?
See Prepare Your Paper for guidance in formatting your paper.

Why am I required to submit my D.Min. project paper to the library?
The library collects, stores, and preserves D.Min. project papers to preserve the research contributions of the seminary’s D.Min. students. Your paper will be preserved as a full-text document in electronic format and added to the library’s digital collection.

Library Borrowing

Who is eligible for borrowing privileges at the library?
WTS students, faculty, staff, and others affiliated with the seminary are eligible. Other groups eligible for borrowing privileges are listed on the library user and visitor information page.

How do I get a library card?
Go to the Circulation & Information Services Desk in the library and ask for borrowing privileges. Provide the appropriate ID and information and library staff will create an account.

What can I check out of the library?
Books, media, and D.Min. project papers.

Are there books/materials that I can’t borrow from the library?
Journals, periodicals, newspapers, and reference books do not circulate. In addition, books from the Godsey, Rare Book and Faculty collections are not loanable.

Can I renew my library books online?
Yes. Log into your library account on the library online catalog page. Use your last name and barcode located on your borrower’s card.

How do I review my library account?
Log into your library account on the library online catalog page. Use your last name and barcode located on your borrower’s card.

How do I return borrowed library materials?
Return materials in-person or by mail. For more details, see Returning Library Materials.

Are the fines/fees for overdue or loss items?
Currently, the library will waive overdue fines when you return borrowed materials. However, the library charges $97 for lost or damaged items.

Can I request library materials for pickup?
Only WTS students, faculty, and staff may request materials to be prepared for pickup. For more details, see Materials Request Pickup.

Can the library send books to me?
The library will mail books to WTS students, faculty, and staff. For more details, see Materials Mail Delivery.

General Information

What are the library hours?
The library will be open weekdays and closed weekends. For current hours and closures, see Library Hours.

Is the library open to the public?
Yes, with restrictions. See Library Hours.

Can I drink beverages in the library?
Yes. All beverages must be in containers that have lids or caps.

Is food allowed in the library?
Food is only allowed in the library lounge. Food will not be permitted for the Spring 2022 semester.

Does the library have photocopying?
No. Copying machines are no longer available in the library. Copying is available in the seminary mail center.

Is printing available in the library?
Yes. Paid printing will be available in the library.

Does the library have scanning equipment?
Yes. The library has scanners for scanning to portable devices and cloud storage.

Does the library loan e-readers or laptops?
No. At this time, the library does not loan e-readers or laptops to library users.

Library Meeting Spaces

Are the classroom and seminar room available for individuals and groups to use?
No. These rooms will not be available during the Spring 2022 semester.

Is the library lounge open?
Yes. The lounge will be open with limited seating during the Spring 2022 semester.

How do I make a room reservation?
Once the rooms become available, you can use the Room Reservation Request Form to reserve meeting spaces in the library.

Interlibrary Loan & Document Delivery

What is ILL/Document Delivery?
If the library does not own materials that you need, library staff will attempt to locate and borrow these materials from another library.

How do I get a book or article not available in the library?
WTS students, faculty, and staff can submit ILL requests with the Interlibrary Loan Materials Request Form. For more details, see Interlibrary Loan and Document Delivery.

Can alumni and special researchers use ILL/Document Delivery?
No. Only WTS students, faculty, and staff are eligible to use ILL/Document Delivery.

How much does ILL/Document Delivery cost?
Currently, the library does not charge WTS students, faculty, and staff for this service.

How long does it take for the library to obtain materials via ILL/Document Delivery?
It depends upon the operations and policies of the lending institution. It may take 3-14 business for processing and delivery of ILL/Document Delivery requests.

Donating Books to the Library

Does the library accept book donations?
At this time, the library cannot accept used textbooks, large donations or private collections. For details about the donation process, see Library Gifts.

Are there alternatives for donating my books?
Yes. Charities and local public libraries may accept your books.

Technical Support

What is my My Wesley account?
All WTS students, faculty, and staff are issued a username and password to access the My Wesley network.

If you do not have an account or do not know your account, students should contact the Office of the Registrar and faculty/staff should contact Human Resources.

Why doesn’t my login work to access the library's online resources?

  • First, make sure that you are logging in through the correct link. The login link on the online catalog landing page does not redirect to WDS or the library's online resources.
  • Second, make sure that you are using your My Wesley username and password.
  • Third, if you continue to have issues, contact SolutionWorx for assistance. Students use: studenthelp@solutionworx.com. Faculty and staff use: support@solutionworx.com.

Why can't I reset my My Wesley password?
Please contact SolutionWorx regarding your My Wesley account. Students use: studenthelp@solutionworx.com. Faculty and staff use: support@solutionworx.com.

Why can't I access the library online resources outside of the U.S.?
In some cases, there may be an issue with your My Wesley account. Please contact SolutionWorx regarding your My Wesley account. Students use: studenthelp@solutionworx.com. Faculty and staff use: support@solutionworx.com.

In other cases, the issue may be with your international service provider. Please contact the library for further assistance.

How do I access Blackboard?
If you need assistance with Blackboard, see Blackboard Support.

THE LIBRARY AT WESLEY THEOLOGICAL SEMINARY
4500 Massachusetts Avenue, NW | Washington DC 20016 | 202-885-8695 | library@wesleyseminary.edu